A Proper Send-Off

March 6th, 2020
send off

Recognition

I'm down to one final day of work left at the golf course, and I can smell the finish line. This week has been the hardest week of work we've had all season, and I'm dead on my feet. Since Sunday, I will have worked 65 hours after I finish my last shift tomorrow, with a 13-hour shift today. I got in at 7 in the morning and left after 8 at night, and I'm back at the course at 7 tomorrow morning. And it's not like they are easy shifts, either. During these big tournaments, we are working hard the entire time we are there to ensure the tournament runs smoothly. It's takes a lot of mental, physical, and emotional energy to make it all the way through, but we're almost to the finish line now, and everything has gone really well in the tournament. We've received a lot of compliments for how the tournament has been run, and everyone is really enjoying themselves. After getting home today around 9, though, the last thing I wanted to do was get back to work, but I was able to squeeze a little light work in, anyways, and I'm going to make this entry shorter than usual.

busy

We always have a big dinner the Friday of the Member-Guest, where we actually get to sit down with the members and enjoy a nice steak dinner. It was really nice to take a moment to enjoy the fruits of our labors and chat with the members on a more human level. At the end of the dinner, my boss gives a big speech going over all of the results up to this point in the tournament and sets the stage for the final round. He's actually really good at doing these speeches, and the guys always get a kick out of it. At the end of the speech, he took a minute to recognize me and give me a really nice send-off in front of all of these members. He told everyone about my plans to move on and thanked me for all of my hard work over the last 3 years. I wasn't expecting much, but the members and their guests, most of whom have come back multiple years and I've gotten to know over these last 3 years, gave me a standing ovation. I've never really been recognized like this before, and it was a really great feeling. I've poured my heart and soul into this job, day in and day out, and it was great to see that they appreciated this. I got a lot of well wishes after this announcement and, overall, it made me feel really good.

difficult

As far as my studying went today, I started off by looking at my JavaScript course, Andrew Mead's The Modern JavaScript Bootcamp on Udemy. I got about 5 minutes into it and realized my brain was barely functional at this point. He set up a fairly simple and straightforward challenge for us to do and I couldn't wrap my head around it at all. So, I decided I would spend my time elsewhere. Not to mention, I left my power cord at work and only had enough juice to get me through a little bit of work and was concerned my computer would die before I got to writing this blog entry and sending it off. I cracked open my other computer and looked at Youtube for something a little milder to watch. Since, in my new job, they will be using ASP.net on the backend, I took a look at a course on the subject. I got about 5 minutes into this and realized ASP.net is a C#-based framework, of which I knew nothing about. So, I traced it back a little and found an introductory course on C#. What I found here was really interesting. There are so many similarities between JavaScript and C#, it is uncanny. I think this is probably true with most programming languages. Once you have the basics down for programming, the rest comes down to differences in syntax and limitations set by the language itself, like how strongly or weakly typed the language is. Most of what I watched in this video, though, I could pick up almost immediately and start doing on my own in a jiffy. I think tomorrow I will go back to my JavaScript course, but it's nice to know it won't be too difficult to expand my language skillset.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019