A Shot in the Dark

September 9th, 2019
a-shot-in-the-dark

Adding Firestore to the App


It was kind of a start-and-stop day on the studying front. I had the day off, but it seemed like every time I sat down to get something done, I was being called in another direction. Such is life at the Thoyre residences, sometimes. However, I was still able to make some good progress since my last post, getting through section 15 of Neil Cummings' "Build an app with React, Redux, and Firestore from Scratch." I crossed the halfway mark of the course, and the app itself is looking pretty good. I haven't had to change much yet in the app to customize it.

If you didn't read my previous posts, I have the idea of creating a Meetup-esque app specifically for coders who want to get together and create something together. You would be able to specify what technologies you would like to focus on and create events to host these so-called "parties." It would give developers of all levels to meet other local developers and network accordingly, while everyone is able to hone their skills in their desired niche areas or branch out to new areas. In theory, this sounds like something I would personally be interested in, and maybe something like this already exists outside of Meetup, but regardless, it will be a nice project to showcase in my portfolio.

In other news, I have been selected for a preliminary interview, one of four interviews, for a junior developer job that could either work remotely or from Madrid, Spain! This is just a 15-minute "cultural fit" interview, which I'm not too worried about at this point, but following this are 2 technical interviews followed by a final interview. This seems like an arduous process and I feel like I really need to level up my JavaScript skills before the first technical interview. There's a course by Andrei Neagoie that I've had my eye on, so depending on how that interview goes, I'm going to start working on that. In the meantime, I'm doing some research on the company in question while trying to bang out my currently selected course. It seems I might have my hands full!

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019