Another One

August 11th, 2019
another-one

One ends, another begins


After 12 and a half hours in the sauna that we call Florida's great outdoors, I'm having a hard time keeping my eyes open. As excited as I am to get this new course kicked off, I don't know how long I'll last tonight. After completing the final section of Colt Steele's "The Modern React Bootcamp" last night, I jumped right into Andrei Neagoie's "Complete React Developer in 2019" course, completing the first 2 introductory sections last night.

After dinner tonight, I started working on the 3rd section, which happens to be about 4 hours long. It covers all of the basics of React while building a fun little app using the JSONPlaceholder API. So far, I really like how these 2 instructors, Andrei and Yihua Zhang, explain everything. They are very detailed in their explanations of each topic, and it really feels like they are taking their time in explaining everything. This course doesn't have a bunch of smaller projects with one bigger culminating project; instead, the majority of the course after the React Basics section I'm currently on focuses solely on one large E-Commerce app, adding more and more functionality and features as we go. I'm really excited to continue on in this journey with these instructors and am very hopeful that this course will be effective in teaching me a lot about React.

This 3rd section of the course is about 4 hours long, so I'm not sure I'm going to get it all in tonight, but I'll surely finish it tomorrow and be able to move on to the rest of the course. Meanwhile, I've been working hard on getting my Twitter skills up to speed and have started following a lot more people and companies that are influential in this space. I also joined an app called Career Karma that links you with mentors for free. There are some cool features on this app, including support "squads" and a 21 day challenge that kind of walks you through the capabilities of the app while helping you get connected with the people using the app and the mentors themselves. It seems pretty interesting so far, but I really haven't done a ton of research on the effectiveness of it yet. As always, my todo list keeps growing, and while I check one thing off, 10 more get added. At least I know what I have to do!

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019