Anticipation

August 25th, 2019
anticipation

The Waiting Game


As Monday approaches, there are still a lot of unanswered questions in my professional life. I may be getting a call from the company that I interviewed with, informing me of whether or not I got the job, but that call may not come for several more days. This could be a huge fork in my life, or it could mean that I have to continue on the path I'm currently on. At this point, it's pretty much out of my hands. I could email or call the hiring manager to follow-up, but at this point, I don't think that would do anything other than bother him. I have already sent him an initial follow-up email that I think served a great purpose, informing him of my genuine interest in the job. I could still get a call from one of the other companies that I interviewed with, setting another series of events into action. Again, it could end up that, at the end of the week, I'm still looking at the status quo. It's important for me to remember that, if I were to get a job at this point in my journey, it would definitely be an industry anomaly. 3 months is not a long time to be learning this vast ocean of material; I'm still just scratching the surface. If I were to get a job at this point, I would be amazed, quite honestly.

I had the day off today and, while the little girl was napping, I was able to knock out some work on Maximilian Schwarzmuller's "VueJS 2 - The Complete Guide". I've been working diligently on this course, trying to get it completed so that I can be ready for my first day of work if I do get this job. I don't think that will be an issue; I'm at 54% completion right now and, given that I would have to give a 2 week notice to my current job, I should have enough time to do several other courses as well. This is a fantastic course, but I don't feel like I know Vue inside and out yet. There are not nearly as many resources online as there is for React, so finding the next course has been a bit of a struggle. I have some options that I've picked out on Udemy, but some of them are rather short for my liking. I typically try to find the courses in the 40-hour range to get the best bang for my buck; you know they will have some great projects and tons of content. Some of the courses I'm looking at hardly approach 10 hours, but they will have to suffice. This will give me more time to take multiple courses, giving me some different perspectives.

In the past, if I had a big event on Monday morning or something I was looking forward to, every second would last an eternity for the weekend. With my new focus on my studies, I've been too busy to get too obsessed with this. Obsessed is definitely the right word for this. Now, I guess I'm channeling that obsession into my work. If I can stay in this mode, the sky is the limit. In the end, it really won't matter if I get this job or the next that I interview for; I'm going to go pretty far in this web development world. I'm not trying to toot my own horn; in fact, this obsessive trait has worked against me more than it has helped me. When it helped me, I was on fire, unstoppable. When I studied economics, I took an econometrics class my senior year. This course was notoriously difficult, which sounded like a challenge to me. I still remember the first test: our professor drew a diagram of the scores on the test, with most of the scores hovering on the pass/fail line, and 2 scores in the 80s. I received an 89 on that test, and I think she was actually pissed that I did so well on it. When I'm on, look out, and I'm on for the foreseeable future.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019