Back to JavaScript

September 17th, 2019
back-to-javascript

Hope my brain doesn't explode


I was hoping to finish Neil Cummings' "Build an app with React, Redux, and Firestore from scratch" last night, but it turns out that was way too ambitious. I ended up putting in about 4 more hours this afternoon to get it done, but finally I put a fork in it. This course was 29 hours long and very comprehensive. As the title suggests, the only goal of this course was to create an app with React, Redux and Firestore. There were about 25 other dependencies for this project, including Semantic UI(which I love) and date-fns(which I despise). I won't lie, a lot of the material went right over my head, but I was able to follow along and produce a fully featured, fully functioning app.

The app is similar to Meetups, but I've made some slight modifications to it, and will continue to modify it until I feel like its to my liking. My idea for this app is to be an app where users can create a coding get-together at their house, thus fixing the issue of having to rent out a space to hold the meetup. Most meetups have a speaker or are social gatherings to meet people, which is great, but my app will be different in that the only purpose is to create a project on a team. This will allow people to practice the typical workflow of being on a team, with different team members having specific specializations. Users can create a party with the goal of creating a React app, or a Vue app, or whatever technology they want to focus on, and at the end of the process, each team member will have a finished product they can put in their portfolio and show potential employers what they're capable of. It will also allow users to work with developers of different skill levels. Senior developers can mentor junior developers while junior developers can learn from the best people in their area. It will also act as a great networking tool, where senior developers can get hands-on work with potential hires, without having to do some whiteboard interview. I think the hiring process is broken in the developer space; there's only so much you can see in an interview, and this may help alleviate this issue.

After completing this course, I'm back to work on Andrei Neagoie's "Advanced JavaScript Concepts," which I'm a little more than halfway done with at this point. My goal is to complete this course by the end of the week and start my journey with Frontend Masters. Andrei is an excellent teacher who goes at a nice, slow pace, which is great for me with these concepts. I know this course will not complete my training with JavaScript, far from it, but I hope to have a better grasp of the concepts by the end of it. Regardless, I'm learning more every day without fail, and eventually I'll get to where I need to be. I'm very excited to get going on Frontend Masters, as I'm convinced this will take my knowledge base to another level. As I've stated in previous posts, I'll be starting at the beginner level, which is around 40 hours. Some of this material will be a big step back for me, but I know the review will be very helpful and I also know I have some big gaps in what I know, even about the fundamentals. I can't wait to finish this course and move over!

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019