Back to JavaScript

October 12th, 2019
back-to-javascript2

I think I'm ready...


After a few days going through the Front Libraries certification on freeCodeCamp, I've completed all of the curriculum and I've come to the point where I need to decide what to do next. There are about 5 culminating projects for this section that I could tackle, or I could go back to the arduous battle that is JavaScript. If I go after the projects, this could take quite a bit of time, time that I should probably be spending on mastering the art of JavaScript. I learned a lot in this section, but I think I have to save these projects for a later date. I don't think my knowledge of React is going anywhere at this point, but I need to keep building on my JavaScript knowledge while it's still fresh in my mind. Which begs the question: how do I go about learning it this time? I still have quite a bit I can do in the freeCodeCamp JavaScript section, but I feel like it progressed past my skill level pretty quickly.

My plan, as of now, is to hit this beast on 2 different fronts. I'm going back to Frontend Masters to find some excellent courses to learn from, for one. Will Sentance has a few that I'd like to explore. I've also been watching Douglas Crockford's "The Good Parts of JavaScript and the Web" towards the end of the night each night for the past few days. That course has been great, but it really hasn't gone into any depth as far as actual concepts; it's more of an exploration of different facets of the language and how they're either flawed or not. There's always Kyle Simpson's courses; maybe I've learned enough at this point to actually follow what he's talking about. My second approach was suggested by a guy I've gotten to know through Twitter, a site called CodeWars. This site is a collection of exercises that range from easy to ridiculous, so I think I could learn a lot by starting with the simple ones and working my way up. It's also framed as a sort of competition, so that should make it a bit more compelling.

After I completed the coursework in freeCodeCamp today, I decided to take a look at my resumé and see if I could improve it. I found quite a bit I could do to make it better, but I need more time to refine it. It was no longer up to date with my most recent projects and I never really explicitly talked about the coursework I'm taking online. I'm going to create a whole section, fairly close to the top, detailing the courses I've taken with links to the certifications I've received from these courses. I'm also going to put the amount of hours each course is. At this point, if you tallied up all the hours of coursework I've consumed, it would be around 300, which I would think would be somewhat impressive. I did something similar to this on my portfolio, but I've actually gotten a bit behind on keeping up with my portfolio, so there's another thing I need to work on. It always seems like when I'm working on these things, I'm losing valuable time on learning. I know, though, that these facets of the journey are just as important to landing a job, if not more. There are so many things that have gone into getting me where I am today, and still so much more to do.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019