Backtracking

February 23rd, 2020
backtrack

Back to GraphQL

After spending the last few days working through some pretty basic stuff in Andrew Mead's The Modern JavaScript Bootcamp, I decided to go back to his The Modern GraphQL Bootcamp course and learn something brand new. Much to my chagrine, this was easier said than done, and I got stuck. Because I hadn't been active on the project we had been working on during the course for a few days, my server had shut down. So, just start the server up, right? Well, the problem was, I didn't remember how I got that server up and running in the first place. I knew the answers were in the course, but I didn't want to have to comb through the whole course again to find the answer. I tried to figure it out on my own for a little while, but I realized I was getting nowhere. I noticed pretty quickly, though, that my icon on my desktop for the pgAdmin program and for Docker were no longer appearing, meaning these programs were not running in any capacity. This made a lot of sense, and it also helped me remember where in the course we had gone over that. When we introduced Prisma, we spent some time setting up our local environment for the project in one video, where we started up a postgreSQL database with Heroku and then got everything connected, including Prisma. So, I started looking for this video and found it. Now, I'm actually writing this whole entry while pgAdmin boots back up, which is taking an inordinate amount of time. Actually, it just finished up right now, so I'm going to try and get back up and running.

prisma

Ok, that wasn't as bad as I thought. Apparently, though, for future reference, I need to make sure that I boot up pgAdmin and Docker before I get back into a project like this, otherwise I won't be able to access the server. That makes a whole lot of sense, and I feel pretty dumb for thinking that it would just work without doing this, but up until now in this course, I've only had to boot it up the first time, and it's just stayed running the whole time without issue. I think when I closed the project down on vsCode, everything shut down on me, causing the need to reboot it all back up. While the process to get back up and running was actually really straightforward, pgAdmin took a long time to boot up, and it would not be ideal to have to do this every time I started back up with a couple days break from the project in between. Thus, from now until the time I finish this course, I'll keep this project up and running. I only have like 8 or 9 more hours of the course, but since I started this JavaScript project as well, it's taking me longer to finish it than it normally would. I'll just have to be more careful in the future. I was pretty close to giving up on the course there for a second, feeling like I had taken too much time off in between sessions to retain the knowledge, but luckily it was easier to get it back than it could have been.

clock

I think I'll go a little further before I call it a night, since I really haven't gotten that much done, but it's been a long day and I do want to get some rest before another eventful day tomorrow. I had a 10 and a half hour shift again today, my last Sunday I'll hopefully ever work, and ran a couples tournament during the shift. Unfortunately, I still have a few more big tournaments to go before I leave, including the granddaddy of them all, the Member-Guest. This is a 4 day tournament where we go all out, pulling out all the stops. It's constant action for the entire stint, and will leave all of us completely decimated. The final day of the tournament is my last day of work, so it will be a nice way to go. In fact, there is a dinner on Friday night that I will be attending, and this will be a great way to say goodbye to a lot of great members and friends I've made along the way. Until then, I have a ton of studying I want to get done before I start my first day. I would love to get this GraphQL course done, even though it's irrelevant to my job, I want to get that JavaScript course complete, and I also want to take JavaScript: Understanding the Weird Parts, which is apparently a great course for JavaScript. There's lots to do, and the clock's ticking.

Until tomorrrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019