Christmas

December 25th, 2019
Christmas

Family Time

In the golf business, you tend to have to work a lot of holidays, including Christmas. At my current club, we are closed on Christmas, but we're open every other holiday, including Christmas Eve. This is a huge reason why I'm looking to get into something else. Holidays represent times to make long-lasting memories with the ones you love and days to enjoy the time you have with them. I worked yesterday, Christmas Eve, and hope that it's the last major holiday I ever have to work. We also don't make enough money or have enough time off to be able to spend Christmas with the rest of our family in San Francisco, so even though we had a great day with the just the 3 of us(plus our golden retriever, Lucy), we still missed out on a lot of memories with the rest of our family. A longer-term goal of mine is to be able to work remotely, which would provide me the opportunity to travel whenever I need to. Unfortunately, most remote companies are very hesitant to hire someone without experience as a remote developer, but I believe the entire industry is trending to be more remote-friendly, and I expect the future to hold plenty of opportunities to work remotely.

holidays

With that said, we had a great day with our 18-month-old daughter, filled with unwrapping presents and plenty of eating. We literally spent close to 4 hours in the morning before her nap unwrapping all of her toys, and still didn't finish. My fiancé prepared a delicious breakfast of biscuits and gravy with eggs, and then we had all kinds of snacks to last us through dinner. It was literally a whole day eating ordeal, which is always nice. She made some great deviled eggs, a cheese dip, and these awesome brie-cranberry crostinis that I ate way too many of. For dinner, she made an awesome prime-rib with brussel sprouts and bacon-wrapped jalapènos with cream cheese on the inside. I sat in a food coma for the majority of the day, watching some of my favorite Christmas movies and enjoying my little girl play with all of her new toys. I got my fiancé this really cool small hydroponic garden for growing herbs that comes with herbs like basil, thyme and mint to start you off. She has an affinity for killing anything she tries to grow, but this thing pretty much handles itself, and she'll have a hard time killing these. She got me a really nice desk chair so I'll have a better working environment for coding. I still need to get a better desk to work at, but the one we have now will suffice.

structure

After all the festivities wound down and we got the little girl to bed, I found some time to work on my coding journey, as I always do. Part of building good habits is finding time to get them done on tough days like these. It would be easy to skip a day like this, but for me, that's a slippery slope. I want to remain fully committed to this journey, and not give in even a little bit. If I say it's ok to miss a day here, then in the future it will be easy to say the same thing some other day. All of a sudden, I'll start skipping days all over the place. I've built a really positive structure in my life, and I'm working hard to maintain that. So, I got to work on Colt Steele and Stephen Grider's The New JavaScript Bootcamp. I just got to the point of finishing up all of the functionality involved with signing up, signing in, and signing out. There is a bug that I can easily see, where it gives me an error of invalid value when I try to sign up. I can't tell yet if it will be addressed in a future video or if this is something I messed up specifically. I've gone back through some of the older videos to try and spot a difference in my code and have read through all of my code to see if I can find something, but I'm not seeing it yet. Hopefully, it's not on my end and will be addressed in the future. Otherwise, we're moving on to implementing some functionality with the products we will be selling in the app. This will be fairly similar to the user functionality, but there will be much to learn, I'm sure.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019