Completion and Twitter

August 10th, 2019
completion-and-twitter

Good work on a day off


With 5 videos left in "The Modern React Bootcamp" by Colt Steele, I think it's safe to say that I will put this bad boy to bed tonight! This course was 39 hours long; I learned a lot and produced a ton of great projects that help to beef up my Github profile. I now have a very solid foundation in React, but I would say that I'm just on the verge of being intermediate. Anyone who says that you can learn anything in programming in one course is lying. Trust me, 39 hours of material is a ton of material, but it's just not enough. The course I took before this was the same way; we covered a ton of topics in that course, but never went into great depth with anything. I'm not saying these courses weren't valuable; in fact, they taught me an incredible amount. It's just amazing to me how much there is to learn to just become proficient. All I can do is keep consuming information until I start to think in code.

I spent some time messing around on Twitter today, trying to reply to some community member's tweets and just get myself out there. A really prominent member of the React community, Kent C. Dodds, tweeted out something this morning about a React testing library that he created and was trying to get some stars on github and some retweets. So, I decided to oblige, starring his repository and retweeting his post. I just listened to a podcast of his yesterday with Dan Abramov, so I replied to his comment that I really liked his new podcast, and he was nice enough to thank me! I'm not trying to be a fanboy or anything, but I just thought that was really cool. I'm constantly blown away by the people involved in web development. It seems that everyone is dissatisfied with the status quo of everything, so they're always working to improve the entire ecosystem. You have an incredibly intelligent group of young like-minded individuals working tirelessly to make their niche area just a little bit better. I don't know how things used to be in web development, but it seems nowadays that everyone is just buckled down and ready to take it to the next level. Things in web development change quickly, and I think this is why.

I'm getting closer and closer to having to make a decision as to what I will do after I complete this current course. After reviewing further "The Advanced Web Developer Bootcamp" by Colt Steele, I just wasn't motivated to tackle this. This course doesn't address Hooks in React and is strictly class-based, which is just outdated when it comes to React now. Now, I think in most professional cases, you would still be using older code, so it would definitely be important to understand classes better, but if you're not focusing on Hooks at this point, I think you're going to lose touch with what's currently going on in React. That's why I'm about 90% sure I'm going with Andrei Neagoie's course instead. I could still change my mind and go with a wildcard, but I've researched these courses quite a bit at this point, and this seems to be the best option. Who knows, I could end up completely switching gears tomorrow and going with a course on Vue instead, but I seriously doubt it. My focus is on React for now until I can build stuff without the aid of a tutorial.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019