Making Time

July 25th, 2019
Day10

Easier said than done...


After spending another 13 hour day stuck at work, I'm finally getting down to studying at about 8:30 at night. I have to be back there at 7 tomorrow morning, so I'm now trying to cram as much as I possibly can in this small window of time. This is a common issue, especially with a 13 month old running around like a maniac. It leaves me wondering on a daily basis: how can I make more time?

I think the answer is to slowly train my body to accept less sleep so that I can still function on a high level with say, 4 hours of solid rest. Since my little Kaija was born, I've definitely gotten used to 6 hours being the new normal for sleep, but it took me a long time to adjust to that from a typical 8 hour sleep night. If I can wake up at 3, I can gain 2 extra hours of quiet study time before going in to work. I've tried this, but my morning self wants nothing to do with this idea. As soon as that alarm goes off at 3 am, plans easily change and another 2 hours of sleep sounds incredible. I wonder if I could get used to waking up at 4 instead of 5 for a while and see if I could get comfortable with that before graduating to 3 am. In any case, this time is so valuable and I need to find a way to utilize it; I think the sacrifice will have to be sleep.

Since I have limited time tonight, I'm going directly into The Modern React Bootcamp on Udemy to get as much as I can done before my vision goes double. I'm just finishing up section 6 now, where we are using state to build a basic random number-click-event-generator-game. The next section will have us build a dice rolling game that looks pretty fun, so I'm hoping to have that done, pushed to git, and deployed tonight if at all possible. I can't imagine I'll get much further than that, but if I can, I may touch up some of my Github repos, the never-ending process. It's definitely starting to look better on there, though.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019