NuxtJS!

July 18th, 2019
Nuxt

I created a very simple Recipe Book with Vue and NuxtJS!


I've had a few successful project builds based off of tutorials where I didn't actually break something and abandon it before deployment, which is very encouraging. First, I was able to get this blog off the ground, which turned out to be a lot more difficult than I thought it would be. Then, after a pretty simple build of the Leaflet project, I got stuck on deployment, but eventually found a way to get it on Netlify(in the process learning how easy and awesome Netlify is). This recipe project was kind of a gimme, as we say in golf, but it was still a lot of fun to build and I got some more practice and information about both Vue and NuxtJS.

For those of you who haven't worked with these technologies, I am, by far, no expert and would not want to butcher the explanation. However, I will say that Nuxt acts as sort of a framework for Vue, making the routing a little bit more clear to understand and just adding some shortcuts in general. I'm just scratching the surface on it's and Vue's capabilities, but I have found that even for a beginner like myself, I'm not having too many game-stopping issues that make my computer seem evil.

Beyond this project, I've spent some time working on Colt Steele's Advanced Web Developer Bootcamp on Udemy.com. I found his first course to be expansive and awesome, however in this course, he's chosen to bring some other instructors on, and I'm really having a difficult time getting through this one. I think I'm at about 20% completion right now, whereas with his first course, by this point, I was at least half way done. I've obviously been doing some extracurricular projects that are pushing my comfort zones, so I haven't allowed it to slow my momentum down.

Now, I'm on to my next search for a project to create. I would like the project to serve some use for me, such as this blog does. I would like to use Vue in a project, however I've had a hard time finding projects using Vue on YouTube; there definitely are some, just not as many as there are with React. Also, I would like to use Nuxt again to get more comfortable with it. I'm starting to understand how it works better after doing that simple project today, but I would like to push the limits as to its capabilities. I would also like to spend some time in the next week working on my resume and considering a new version of my portfolio, as the one I currently have only partially works. Lastly, I would really like to get through this Advanced Web Developer Bootcamp because I know there is some very valuable information in there and some great projects I could later deploy. My to-do list never gets shorter; there's only more and more avenues to explore!

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019