All Systems Deploy

July 19th, 2019
netlify

Many deployments, more projects


Since yesterday's post, I realized that, if it was so easy to deploy that app yesterday on Netlify, why couldn't I go through some of my other projects and deploy them as well? So I did. Yesterday night, I deployed 6 projects and redeployed my portfolio and this blog. I love Github, but I was having so many issues with my portfolio site as well as this blog being deployed on Github Pages that I was about to lose hope on my portfolio all together. Literally one click on Netlify and I had those suckers deployed. Unbelievable.

After finishing up these deployments, I decided to try my hand at another YouTube project. I chose another recipe project, for some reason; I must have been hungry yesterday. This project uses React and pulls a recipe API from Edamam(some random company) to give you 10 recipes that most relate to your search topic. The app itself was very basic; very little styling, only one page, and literally only serves 3 pieces of information from the recipe with no links. Once I have a firmer grasp on everything, both React and Vue, the plan is to either revamp some of these early projects to add in more features and make them more my own, or simply keep building until I can build my own unique projects while using tutorials as a crutch. Obviously, I've made it clear so far that I'm just beginning on my endeavour and am still in the early stages of being able to create projects period. A month ago, working with React or Vue would have been impossible; I barely knew what node or npm was.

I'm just getting down to business tonight after working all day. It's 7:15 and I have tomorrow off, so I have a solid 6 or 7 hours to get stuff done before I can;t see straight anymore. My plan is to tackle another project on YouTube first and see what I have time for after that. The one that I have my eye on, and it may be different from the one I end up going with, is a slightly more complex Todo List App using Vue and Adonis. I've never used Adonis before, so we'll see how that goes. I definitely would like to have a Todo List that I actually use, so I think this would be a great project, and I would love to something with Vue again, even though I would like to get better at React so I can fix my portfolio up. I've had a great run of successful project but I'm forsaking my Advanced Web Developer Bootcamp, which is very useful to my knowledge advancement. That said, I will set aside enough time tonight to complete Section 7: AJAX Part 1 and possibly move on to Section 8: AJAX Part 2. These sections are being taught by Colt Steele himself and are much more palatable.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019