The ToDo Beast Wins

July 21st, 2019
Day6

Dead end for now


Unfortunately, today I realized that the project I've been pouring over for the last 3 days may not come to fruition, at least not yet. For some reason, it's broken and well beyond my cognitive capacity to fix at this point. While the victories are sweet, the defeats are just as bitter. I've had several really good builds in a row, so I shouldn't get too down; maybe I should just take a step back and look at where I'm spending my time.

I have completely moved away from my Advanced Web Developer Bootcamp for whatever reason; I think I'm too focused on learning everything right now. It's possible that this class just isn't as good; the last class seemed like one of those "page-turner" novels that you just can't put down. This one seems more like a chore to get into. Again, I think it's my focus right now; the class will prove useful at some point, and maybe I dissect it and take it in the pieces that I want. There's a great D3 section that I started yesterday and then about half of the class is devoted to React. I would be skipping some great material, just not stuff that I can get motivated on right now.

When learning something new like this, for me, I find that there's a certain momentum created from the problems and projects that you overcome. Often, I lose that momentum when I run into situations like I did today. This means that I need to find something as fast as possible to get that momentum going again. I've learned a lot in a short period of time and I would hate to lose all of that progress due to one error in one project.

So, with that, I plan to hit the AWDB course again at some point either tonight or tomorrow, and I think I will go directly into the D3 sections to get some momentum going again for that class. At the same time, I'll be searching for something on YouTube to create that's simple but sophisticated. I'd still like to use Vue or React, but otherwise it could be anything, as long as it's fairly simple. I need to get one back in the win column.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019