React and Github Cleanup

July 24th, 2019
Day9

Deployed and Annoyed


I was able to get off work early today and excitedly raced home to hit the books. I figured I'd start with cleaning up some stuff on Github, and decided that this blog's repository was one of the most important pieces on my account so far. I rewrote the Readme, went to push to github, and nothing showed up. I've been having a lot of problems with the deploy for this specific project, so I thought it might be a good time to get a fresh start with my repository. It ended up taking me a solid 2 hours to get my blog back up and deployed, but I think I might have the issues worked out at this point. Probably not, but we shall see.

I'm still hitting the Modern React Bootcamp hard. Since my last post yesterday evening, I've completed sections 4 and 5, and am nearly done with section 6. Section 4 was just an introduction to Create-React-App and was fairly simple. In section 5, we built a Pokedex card game using an API provided by Github. The project was very simple, but introduced some huge topics in React and broke them to an understandable level. I was able to deploy this project to Netlify and have a nice Readme already set up for it. Section 6 covers an introduction to state in React. This seems to be something that, once learned, will open doors as to what you can possibly do with React.

I don't think I'll be able to get much more done tonight as I can barely keep my eyes open. If you're reading this and it doesn't make much sense, my apologies! If I can get to it tonight, I'd like to tackle some more Readmes on my Github account just so that my repositories will make more sense if anyone actually comes to look at them. My brain is in no shape to take on heavy-duty topics like state; it'll have to wait...

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019