Explanations

October 17th, 2019
explanations

How it's supposed to be done


I've taken multiple courses that focused specifically on JavaScript over the last 5 months, some better than others. None have compared to the level of detail and precision Will Sentance presents in his courses. Unfortunately, I just finished "JavaScript: The New Hard Parts," and I'm left with just 2 more of his courses to consume. I wish there were more courses on Frontend Masters taught by him, but hopefully I can find some comparable instructors to him on this platform or others to extend my learning. He has given me a better foundation for the principles and inner workings of JavaScript than anyone else, by far. His style of teaching is unique, relying heavily on a whiteboard to diagram out each moving piece involved with only several lines of code at a time, making something very simple look as complex as it is supposed to be. Most of the code presented, at first glance, is very straightforward, and one could infer the outcome fairly easily. This would be making assumptions that may not be necessarily true in one's current mental model. Once he deconstructs this mental model and replaces it with the correct map of actions, more complex code is understood more thoroughly with ease.

Kyle Simpson is highly touted everywhere in the JavaScript world, however I've really struggled with his courses so far. While his level of knowledge is pretty much unparalleled, I don't think his style of instruction is at the level of Will Sentance. I've only taken a course and a half of his, but I just wasn't captivated in the same way I was with Will's courses. When watching Will's courses late at night, I have to change it to something else or I'll end up watching it all night, whereas with Kyle's courses I sometimes have to remind myself to stay awake. I think a large part of this is the fact that the material is unapologetically complex. He charges through some very complicated concepts without stopping for anyone, while Will checks for understanding constantly and teaches with the Socratic method, calling on students to spur the discussion on. Once I have a firmer grasp on these concepts, I think I'll have a much higher benefit from Kyle's courses than I do now.

I just wanted to update something that I talked about yesterday: a potential job interview. As a brief summary of events, I was contacted by a company on Tuesday that I had applied for a web developer position with several weeks back, asking if I was still interested in the position. I ended up setting up a phone interview for that afternoon, but then never received a phone call from them. After emailing this person, they apologized and then set up another phone interview for today at 3. Predictably, they stood me up again. I think at this point if they called me yesterday with another excuse, I probably wouldn't have any interest in talking to them. This is a huge indicator of the quality of the company, and I don't think in the long run it would be a good decision to move forward with them. No matter how much I want to get that first job in the tech industry, I don't want it to be a bad one. All things happen for a reason, I suppose, and this just toughens up my skin a little more than it already was.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019