Father's Day

June 21st, 2020
father

Stuck in No-Man's-Land

It's Father's Day, and being a father, this is obviously a very special day for me. I was lucky enough to have the pleasure of sleeping in until 9, which was the first time in a long time. I've been getting a little worn down, so I really needed it. At 9, my little girl, who turns 2 on Friday this week, came running in to the room with a couple of cards she had made with my fiancé for me. These cards are treasures to me, and better than anything I could ask for. Some people never get to enjoy the feeling of fatherhood, and I know I'm really lucky to be able to have my little girl in my life. She means the world to me, and fuels me to work harder for our future every day. After getting up and getting some coffee, we made our way over to the pool with my fiancé, which is always a fun time. I got to go to the pool twice this weekend, and given that it's well over 90 degrees down here in Florida, this is almost a necessity. We always go fairly early in the morning to avoid the crowds, since we're trying our best to keep our distance from others. After that, I made my way to the grocery store to do a big shop. I was really close to yelling at some people for not wearing masks and bringing their whole families with little kids to the store without masks, but I restrained myself. It's a crazy time we're living in, and Florida is heading down a bad path.

father

A large part of the reason I got into coding in the first place was because of my daughter. I think if we hadn't had her, I would have been totally content to live out my life in mediocrity in the golf business. Part of me always felt as though I wasn't living up to my full potential and I was settling on a path that didn't cause me to exert much mental effort. Beyond that, though, the golf industry isn't necessarily lucrative. When we had my daughter, I realized I was living for more than just myself, and I needed to be able to provide a good life for her. I could live on the wages the golf industry provided for me, but trying to support a family on those wages is a different story. When I first got into coding, a lot of my motivation stemmed from the amount of money you could make as a software developer. Since then, my view has kind of changed. While I still am striving to have a lucrative career, what really has me hooked is the idea of continued education throughout my career. I like the idea of learning for the rest of my life, and continuing to grow as an individual in that sense. This is important to me, and I'm sure there are a lot of other developers who feel the same way.

father

I usually try to get some work done while my little girl naps on the weekends, but I decided to take it easy today. This is really dorky, but I'm trying to watch every Star Wars media in chronological order. I started with Episode 1 and 2, then watched the Clone Wars Movie and TV show, then I watched Episode 3 last night, and now I'm watching Solo. After that is the Rebels TV show, Rogue One and then Episodes 4 through 6. I know this is really nerdy, but I'm really enjoying it. Now that I have Disney Plus, all of this media is in one place, so it makes it easy to watch it all. There's a lot more coming in the next few years too, so it's a good time to become a Star Wars nerd. So, I watched a little of the Solo movie and then passed out while she napped. I'll still get some work done tonight, but I wasn't as productive as I usually am on a weekend day. Part of the reason for this is that I'm in No-Man's-Land, in between projects. I spent some time looking up different APIs I could work with to create a website, but I didn't really come up with anything. I may have an idea for a recipes site with a really nice API, but I think the API can become pretty expensive. We will have to see.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019