Forwards

August 28th, 2019
forwards

The Next Frontier


I will be finishing Maximilian Schwarzmuller's "VueJS 2: The Complete Guide" tonight! I was able to fit a couple months' worth of content into a week and was able to soak it all in at the same time. It does seem like Vue is much easier to deal with than React is. It just seemed like there was so much to learn when it came to React, whereas I feel like I have a really decent grasp on Vue after just 22 hours of content. That's not to say that I'm an expert or that I've even covered all there is to know about Vue. Far from it, actually. I am considering some ideas for personal projects to build with Vue, which I didn't feel comfortable doing with React even after over 60 hours of content.

I've created and deployed around 30 projects since starting my journey, but all of them have been code-alongs. Code-alongs are great and all, but it's a serious leap to go from that to building your own projects. This, I think, is the next thing I should be focusing on. I have been recommended a 3 hour course on Vue on Youtube by the guy I'm meeting with on Friday, so I think I'll do that and then start my own project. I think this short tutorial will serve as a great refresher to the 22 hours of content I just took in. I can knock that out starting tonight and finish it up tomorrow, and from there I can start the planning process for my very own project!

When I was taking my second React course, I connected with a guy from the Czech Republic, and we had big plans to create a project that would call upon the Marvel API. This, I think, would be a great project to create; it would be a lot of fun, and it could potentially be useful. It was my idea, so I'm not stealing it from him. This site will have a search function that will call upon the comic books or characters related to whatever is searched. I can start with it being very basic and build more and more functionality into it as I go, so this is excellent. The site itself will be pretty simple, but visually stunning because of what that API offers. I haven't used Vuetify in a project as a component framework yet, but it looks pretty simple to use and different enough from Bootstrap to look unique. I think the hardest part about this project is starting it; once I get rolling with it, I should be able to figure it out with the docs and Google. It will be a struggle, but I'm determined to create something of my own!

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019