Getting Complicated

July 30th, 2019
getting-complicated

React is starting to get a little interesting


After writing my post last night, I started the Section 19: Building the Dad Jokes App. I could tell this was going to be a lengthy project, but I didn't realize it would end up spanning into the next night, leaving little time for any further study. I'm writing this at 11:15 at night, so it's doubtful that I will get much more work done at this hour, although I may get one more burst of energy to power through another section. I finally finished it a few minutes ago, and I think it's one of the cooler apps that I've built so far. There are some awesome CSS features that really give the page life, and then of course the concept of a database of stupid dad jokes is hilarious.

Now, unlike the todo list app, this app is saving to the local storage on the browser, so the data is persistent per given user! I didn't know this was possible until tonight, but now that I do know, it seems like the possibilities are endless for this. I'm sure there are limitations that I don't know about yet, but it's really an interesting concept to me to just save it directly to the DOM. I hope I can learn more about not only saving to local storage but also other capabilities that the DOM might have. From what I understand, there's a lot you can do with the DOM and it's really only just beginning to be tapped into. Again, I'm no expert, and I probably misused the terminology, but I think this could be bigger in the future.

Even though I was dragging tonight when I got home from work, I was still able to get about 3 solid hours of work in. That's not exactly a full day of studying, but unfortunately I just don't have that luxury. It's tough to fit in the time to study, and typically I'm exhausted by the time I sit down to the computer. Between holding down a full-time job and keeping track of an exploratory 13-month-old, things are getting a little interesting. Nonetheless, I'm determined to get to where I need to be with this, and I won't stop until I do. Even when I do get there, I'm sure there will be about a million more topics for me to learn, and I'm ready.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019