Getting Routed

July 31st, 2019
getting-routed

Single-Page-Applications are Cool!


My focus is still purely on Colt Steele's The Modern React Bootcamp on Udemy.com today. I didn't have very much time to get work done, as I have to go to bed at a reasonable hour tonight; 4 am comes early for work. Nonetheless, I was able to bang out 2 sections of the bootcamp, though they were fairly short.

Section 20 was an introduction to using React Router, and really the first time that I fully understood what a Single-Page-Application is, even though I've already made multiple SPAs. Colt really laid this out in succinct manner; maybe it's just not that difficult of a concept to grasp, but I feel pretty comfortable with it already. Section 21 had us work through an example project, but honestly I wasn't too impressed with this section; it felt hurried. I know that Colt just wanted to focus on the router parts of the app so he skipped over pretty much everything else, but I would have really liked to have my hand held once again to get the full treatment. Although the important concepts were all explained and implemented well, the end result certainly wasn't something I would want to showcase on Github, or anywhere else, for that matter. Still, I was able to get a lot out of these sections and feel ready to move on to the next one. It will likely have to wait until tomorrow, though.

I spent some time earlier today researching a site called Hackajob. It seems that they are some sort of recruitment service specifically for tech jobs. There are some really interesting features on this site that I think could prove valuable if the site is actually used by employers. From what I read, people seemed to have pretty good luck using this service to find a job, so I'm going to give it a try. It doesn't cost anything, so why not? What I really like about this site is that it links directly to your Github account and you can upload your projects to Hackajob. From there, Hackajob runs an algorithm that reviews the content of your projects and gives you a proficiency grade in the tools and technologies that were used in that project. Within minutes, my projects were evaluated and I received quite a few points that are treated as a sort of grade in multiple technologies. I only uploaded a handful or projects, so I'm curious to see what my other projects will do for these values. There are also skills tests that can help you gain points towards those point values as well. There's a lot that I have to do to complete my profile and really beef this up, so I may be spending a little time doing this as well. I'm trying to cover all bases in becoming fully proficient and landing a job in web development job, so I have to take this time as I'm learning to spruce up my digital identity. I still need to re-write my resume, but I found a great free service for that as well, called canva.com. It's just a matter now of sitting down and writing out the content since I found a really nice template. There's a lot to do in not so much time, but I know if I just keep at it every day and keep ticking off those boxes, eventually I will get there.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019