Hectic

January 26th, 2020
hectic

Trying to Stay Above Water

Between today and tomorrow, I'm having a very uphill struggle for the beginning of my work week. Actually, beyond tomorrow, things even out quite a bit, and I just have a few normal, but busy, days to round out the week. Today, we had the Couples Club Championship, which is the biggest couples event of the year. That went off from 9 to 11 in the morning, and was pretty much set up before I got there. It was fairly simple and I didn't have to worry about too much. We were busy before this tournament, and then in the afternoon we had another tournament that went off at 1:30. I planned this event from start to finish and everything went perfectly as planned. There's usually at least one thing that goes awry during a tournament, but thankfully we got that out of the way first thing in the morning. After I had printed everything off for the tournament, including scorecards, cart signs, tee sheets and alphabetical lists of the players, we got a call from the lady who was running the event with several changes. We had to throw everything we had printed out away and print everything off fresh. The changes only took a few minutes to implement, but it seems like every time I try to plan ahead for one of these tournaments, I end up having to do one of these re-prints.

hectic

Tomorrow, we have a huge outside event for a group of local ladies that play all around town. I've also planned this tournament from start to finish, and it looks like we are very well prepared up to this point. I wanted the tournament to look and feel exactly like we have done it in years past, and I believe I was able to achieve that while going beyond the expectations. We should walk in tomorrow to everything already done and ready to go, which is always a reassuring feeling. Once we get this group off at 8:30, we have our weekly ladies' clinic at 10. Every week, we've been able to grow our numbers for this clinic. We started off with 8 ladies, the first week, then we had 11 or 12 the second week, last week we had 15, and right now we have 17 signed up for this week. This is a really good sign, and I feel like it's going really well, so far. We usually take a couple hours to set up the clinic before we come in the day of, but since we have the tournament, we'll be meeting at 6 in the morning tomorrow to discuss everything and get ready to go. It'll be a little hectic, but I think we're going to knock it out of the park again.

high speed

After settling in for the night, I was able to get at least a couple hours of studying in before I started going cross-eyed. All of that sleep I caught up on over the weekend didn't go very far, given the day I had. I'm still working on Maximilian Schwarzmüller's React Native - The Practical Guide, and it is kicking my butt. This is by far the most difficult course to keep up with that I've taken in a while. When I was first starting out with React, I took a course by Andrei Neagoie that I felt the same way about. It's going so fast and Max doesn't slow down for anything. Lately, I've been able to follow along with courses when they go into tutorials without having to pause the videos and have no problem keeping up. My typing skills have improved greatly and my comfort with JavaScript has really helped me to be able to type right along with the instructor. I'm also really solid with vsCode now, so I know a lot of the little keyboard shortcuts that just make life so much easier. This course, on the other hand, seems to be set at 2 or 3X speed. Every 30 seconds, I have to pause the video and try and catch up, often backtracking to see what I missed. I'm in the middle of a large section on React-Navigation, and it is incredibly difficult to follow. I think I'm learning a lot, and I'm getting a lot of practice in a short amount of time, which is great, but I'm definitely going to follow this course up with some more material. My thoughts are to check out Youtube after this course to find some nice video tutorials on React-Native before moving on to Stephen Grider's courses on the subject. I think I can get to a comfortable level within a month or so, which would be a huge boon to my resumé overall.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019