Interview

August 20th, 2019
interview

Fingers Crossed


After sending out multiple applications on Sunday and Monday, I received a call from a local company today! I was able to fumble my way through the initial phone screen and actually have an interview scheduled for tomorrow morning! This company uses Vue as a framework and is in the process of moving from an application-based platform to a web-based platform. They are looking to create a site where their customers can access information that is specific to their account, so they would each have unique portals when logged in to their account. All of their data is held in an sql database and they call upon this data using API requests. I've definitely worked with APIs in multiple projects, but it's not something I would be comfortable writing from scratch, at this point. I've spent the evening brushing up on APIs, Axios, Vue, and SQL databases, just so I can have a general idea of what I'm looking at tomorrow.

I think I did a pretty good job at defining expectations for tomorrow. I clearly stated I did not consider myself to be an expert in any of these tools, technologies, or languages. I did not want them to be under the false pretense that I was an expert already and did not need anyone else's help. In actuality, what I would need as a developer at this point in my career is a great team to work with that could help me take my skills to the next level. Luckily, even after knowing this to be true, they still wanted to have the interview. It was clear that they would like to understand just how "green" I really am, so I'm going to have to demonstrate some level of competency to them. More importantly, if I can demonstrate my willingness and ability to learn and research, I will have a fighting chance. My mentor advised me to be confident in my ability to learn and to show them that, whatever challenges they may throw at me, I could overcome them. I'm very excited, but I still have some more studying to do before I feel prepared. In fact, I'm not sure I would feel prepared regardless of how much time I had. At the end of the day, if the interview goes badly, it will be great practice interviewing and I will be able to apply what I know to my next interview.

As I mentioned, I've had a couple of really nice conversations with my new mentor since yesterday. He reached out to me this morning to get some links to my information so he could better gauge where I'm at in my process. I haven't heard back from him about that, yet, but I let him know as soon as I landed the interview. If I were to get this job, it will work out perfectly to have him as a mentor, since he is actually an instructor on VueMastery, which is Vue's sponsored tutorial site. I will have one of the best people to learn from in the world of Vue. It's very exciting times, indeed, but I don't want to get to worked up to fall flat on my face. I'll try to take a laissez-faire approach to this!

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019