Jangled Nerves

September 10th, 2019
jangled-nerves

Bracing for Impact


The main thing on my mind, as I write this, is my interview tomorrow morning. Since the company in question is based out of Madrid, Spain and they are 7 hours ahead of us in Florida, the interview is at 5:30AM. If I was wise, I'd call it an early night and make sure I get enough sleep, but there's too much to do! I've gotten about halfway through their rather extensive documentation so far, but I still need to go into further depth so I feel comfortable with their company before this interview. It's only a 15-minute interview, which doesn't leave me a lot of time to impress. If I can spit some knowledge, which would be helpful, however I think the main thing is to be myself and hope they like whatever that represents. This is basically a cultural interview; there won't be anything technical involved, so I'm not concerned in that sense. I just hope I have my wits about me at that hour and am able to show my personality a bit.

The interview process for this company is 4-pronged: a "cultural-fit" interview, a technical interview, a pair-programming technical interview, and a final interview. The technical interview will be strictly a test of my JavaScript skills, which still leave a bit to be desired. As soon as I have a good gauge of how the interview goes tomorrow, I've already planned on switching gears to a comprehensive JavaScript course by Andrei Neagoie. This course covers everything necessary for a React developer and then some, and is fully up to date with the most current iterations of EcmaScript. While I've now gotten pretty deep with React, life would make so much more sense if I had a better grasp on JavaScript, so this is an eventuality anyways. If I bomb the interview, which I certainly hope doesn't happen, I'll continue on with my current course and build out the course app to my own specifications for "Code Party." Either way, life will go on and tomorrow night, I'll be back on the grind after work.

In other news, I had a great conversation with a well-known developer who was gracious enough to take almost an hour out of his day to answer my barrage of questions. He gave me some great stuff to go on and hopefully I made a great connection for years to come. I've also found time to complete 3 more sections of Neil Cummings' "Build an app with React, Redux, and Firestore from scratch." These sections covered building out the profile and settings areas of the app. There was a 2-hour section specifically on adding photos into the app, which ended up being much more complicated than I thought it would be, but is an awesome feature for the site. If I can manage to mold this into my own vision, I'll be very pleased!

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019