Living In Limbo

August 21st, 2019
living-in-limbo

Playing the Waiting Game


I had my first interview today for a web development position; BIG DAY! I honestly did not expect to be at this point, yet. It's difficult to gauge how far along I am, not only for me but for my potential employer. They have a bit of trepidation due to my lack of time spent on this endeavor, so far, and rightfully so. I have been studying to become a web developer for just shy of 3 months now. That isn't a long time. Granted, I feel like I've learned a ton in those 3 months and I've done well given the amount of time I've had. It still just isn't a long time to be learning something. If they did hire me, it would be because they thought I would be a good fit for the company and that I have the capability to learn whatever they throw at me. I think both of these things are true, but I don't know if they will outweigh my lack of experience. I will have to wait and find out.

The position in question is for a Vue developer. Now, I've been studying React for quite a while now and have only done a few projects using Vue. The projects that I have done, though, were a lot of fun and I found that Vue was really nice to work with. Everything seems to be simplified for ease of use, which is really important when using a framework. This company had a developer start to build this app in Vue that basically acts as a todo list for the company employees, where tasks can be passed back and forth, and everyone has a different portal specific to their login information. In essence, the app is fairly simple. I don't think that the job itself is out of the realm of my potential capabilities. Yes, I would need a lot more training, but I've proven I can do that self-sufficiently, and working with a team of experienced developers, my growth will be exponential.

I haven't been offered the job, yet. The hiring manager said that he still had a few more interviews to conduct, that mine was the first. I followed up with him this afternoon to thank him for his time and the opportunity. I also let him know that, while he conducts the rest of his interviews, I've decided to switch gears and start a Vue course. This course is taught by Maximillian Schwarzmuller; I've watched a few of his tutorials on YouTube and really like his style of teaching. So far, I've gotten through about 5% of the course, so I still have a long way to go. I think, by the time I walk in the door for my first day of work, that I will have a firm grasp on Vue and will be ready to be productive for their team. I don't want to be a drag on their resources and I want them to feel like they made the right decision in hiring me, so I think this is the right approach to take. So much is up in the air at this point; it's nerve-wracking, but very exciting!

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019