Long Ways Up

August 23rd, 2019
long-ways-up

Determination


Learning web development sometimes seems like the never-ending mountain to climb. There is so much to learn, it can be exasperating at times. I've spent the last month and a half or so studying React after getting a great foundation in full-stack development. I learned a lot about React and created some great projects with it. However, the React ecosystem is so vast that I think it would take many more months to fully grasp all or just most of the React world. That's not say that even senior React developers fully grasp all of these concepts, but they are comfortable enough to look up what they don't know and figure it out from there.

Now, I've completely switched gears into Vue, which has its own incredibly large ecosystem. I don't think the learning curve for Vue is quite as large as React; it's only a few years old and hasn't had the chance to fully mature into the beast that is React. It does carry with it its own syntax and set of rules that, while similar to React, are different enough to make it completely foreign at times. Slowly, I'm making progress with Vue, and I'm confident that I'll get to where I need to be in a matter of a short period of time. Still, it will take a while to be completely comfortable with this framework. I'm working through the course I picked out on Udemy, and am now approaching the 25% mark. This is a 22-hour course and I expect to learn a lot from it, but I also expect to follow it up with more material, be it from Udemy or otherwise. The issue with Vue, because it's still new, is that there isn't nearly as much information about it online, or resources to learn from. I've been digging around, and it looks like I'm already using the most highly-touted course to learn from, but from there it may be a little difficult to figure out where I'm going to go. I'm sure by the time I finish this course, I'll have something picked out.

On the job front, I haven't yet heard back from the company that I interviewed with on Wednesday. It would be a pretty quick turnaround for them to get back to me within 2 days, especially since I was the first person he interviewed and he said he was likely interviewing through the beginning of next week. It's a difficult feeling to not know the outcome of something that is completely out of your hands. I feel pretty good about my interview, but as time goes by, I think of ways that I could have answered a question better or responded in a different way to something. Everyone always says that having an interview is great practice, but I never really thought that through until now. Without that experience, I'm not sure I would have thought so critically about the situation and the questions asked. I think this should make subsequent interviews much easier to handle, although I'm still going to be in for a big surprise when given my first truly technical interview. That will be a serious challenge. I definitely won't know anything until Monday at the earliest, so hopefully I can ease my mind with some serious studying this weekend and forget about the job hunt for a couple of days.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019