Mastering vsCode

November 16th, 2019
mastering-vscode

The ultimate tool


I've bounced around quite a bit today, from one task to the next. I'm using my to do list that I created to add new tasks and taking them off, so I feel like I have a bit more structure, even with an asynchronous day like today. Before, I felt like I could only do one thing at a time, otherwise I wouldn't be able to track where I am and what I was doing. Now, if I decided I don't want to do a certain task at that moment anymore, I go to the to do list and find something else to take off the list. The satisfaction of completion is a real thing, and it's an internal motivator I love to use. That's why, when I do complete a task, I don't take it off the list; I mark it as completed and it leaves it on there crossed off. I implemented a to do list for our whole crew at work about a month ago, and it's increased our productivity across the board significantly. I've been wanting to do it at home for this journey I'm on, but I wanted to use something I built myself, and finally I have that. Actually, I've had several to do lists in my project collection for quite a while, I just wanted something I could call my own, like this one.

I started the day working on a course by James Halliday on Frontend Masters called "Introduction to Bash, Vim, and Regex." This course is loaded with shortcuts and generally awesome things you can do from the command line. The main reason I started taking this course was to learn more about Vim, and I haven't yet gotten to that section, yet. While this course is extremely informative, it tends to be a little dry, so I had to switch it up after a little while. Yesterday, I started working on a curriculum from Codesmith called CSX, which basically takes you through JavaScript, and mainly everything covered in Will Sentance's courses on Frontend Masters, with a ton of exercises to tackle. I started taking this course because I'm going to take a 2 week bootcamp in December called CSPrep by Codesmith. It's an online bootcamp and should be really awesome. I never thought I would do a bootcamp, but I opened up a conversation with Will Sentance himself, and he encouraged me to apply. In fact, since I had mentioned him in some tweets while I was taking his courses, he had actually read my blog, and seemed to be pretty impressed. I have an interview for this bootcamp on Monday, but I think it's more of a formality at this point. This, like his other courses, should be a pivotal moment in my short career so far, propelling me much further than I am today.

Lastly, I've been watching Burke Holland's "vsCode can do that?" course on Frontend Masters for the last 3 hours, and it is really compelling. I've picked up a lot of cool things to do in vsCode before taking this course, but now I'm flying around the platform, and I've made more space for myself. VsCode is super powerful, and it's also incredibly popular. Given that TypeScript is all the hype right now and vsCode has TypeScript built into it, I think it's only going to gain more popularity in the ensuing years, unless something drastically changes. There are so many cool features you can do with vsCode that just make life so much easier and save you so much time, and I only knew a fraction of them coming into this course. I still only know a little bit, but I know enough to be dangerous at this point. I'm just about to get a section on Docker, which I know literally nothing about yet, so I'm excited to learn a thing or 2 in the next hour. After that, I would love to learn some more about hooks; my goal is to be a hooks ninja. That could be really effective in landing an awesome React job.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019