Nearing the End

August 27th, 2019
nearing-the-end

Fast & Furious


I'm now at the 80% mark for Maximilian Schwarzmuller's "VueJS 2: The Complete Guide" and should be able to complete it by the end of the day tomorrow. I started this course late Wednesday night after deciding to switch gears and train myself on Vue in case I was offered a job at the company that I interviewed with that same day. This means that I'm going to complete a 22-hour course in almost exactly a week. It should be clarified that a 22-hour course doesn't take 22 hours; in fact, it takes more like 40 to 50 hours to complete, so I've put in some serious work on this. I've learned a lot about Vue, but there's still a lot to learn. I'm proud that I was able to do this. Whether or not I get the job, I still believe this was the correct move to make and showed a lot of initiative. It may not come to fruition, but at least I can put this course on my resume and feel more qualified for other Vue-related jobs.

Speaking of the job, it's now approaching a week since I interviewed, and I'm starting to think that I may not be the preferred candidate for them. I'm not giving up hope completely; in fact, I'm debating whether or not I should send another follow-up tomorrow when I'm close to completion with the course to update him on my progress and feel out the situation. It's still somewhat early to hear back from them; I've heard stories of people not hearing back about a technical job for months, but he did say that they were moving fast on this. I'm not going to let it discourage me; on the contrary, I'm trying to analyze the entire process as much as possible so I can grow from the experience and be better next time. Again, I haven't lost hope, yet; he could call me tomorrow with an offer and change everything. That would be nice!

I've set up a one-on-one on Friday with a guy who works locally for a company as a Vue developer. This guy is speaking at an upcoming meet-up on Typescript and think he's a great guy to know in the area. He seems to be on the same page as me as far as his prowess to move up in this industry, but he's obviously way more advanced than I am and has been in the industry for some time now. I plan to learn as much as I can from him and get to know him better. It's never been my strong point to get involved in communities, but it's so important for networking and getting connected that I'm really trying to get out of my comfort zone. It should be fun, anyways, he seems like someone I can really get along with!

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019