On the Grind

August 24th, 2019
on-the-grind

Vueing it Up


Since the golf course I work at has gotten over 2 feet of rain in the last 2 weeks, they have decided to close until next Saturday, the 31st. This means that our hours will be cut severely until we open back up. Today, I was off work at 1pm. It's unfortunate, but it's also that time of the year in Florida. We go through some version of this every year. It's a very seasonal place to be for golf. In the winter season, I'm easily able to get at least 10 hours of overtime every week. This time of the year, we are typically about 5 hours short of 40 on a weekly basis. That said, I've had some extra time to get some studying in, so I took full advantage of it.

I've been working solely on Maximilian Schwarzmuller's "VueJS 2: The Complete Guide" to try and get up to speed, in case I'm offered the job that I interviewed for on Wednesday of this last week. If I can finish this course in the next few days, I think this would be a great signal to this company that I'm willing and able to tackle whatever they throw at me. This is a pretty comprehensive course, spanning 22 hours and covering Vue from the basics up to some advanced topics, culminating in a really nice medium-sized projects. This course has practice problems along the way, where starter code is provided and is meant to be expanded from there. These have been very challenging and great practice to get comfortable with the topics immediately after they are introduced. There are a total of 3 projects, with the first 2 being very small. The projects were definitely better in Colt Steele's courses, but it's still great practice to apply the material to an actual app. Yesterday, I reached the quarter-mark in the course, and I'm now approaching 40%. It's now about 11pm, so I don't think I will get to the halfway mark tonight, but since I have tomorrow and Monday off, I should have some time to get there and beyond very soon.

I'm still working on finding my community. I'm reaching out on Twitter, trying to make connections wherever I see the opportunity, and slowly it's coming together. I've been watching the React community on Twitter in the last couple of days, and something is happening over there. Somebody decided to tweet out to them classifying their typical developer as a "bro" and pitting them against Vue developers, classifying Vue developers as first-class citizens. At the same time, one of the most outspoken members of the React community did a talk at React Rally and inadvertently made a white supremacist sign, igniting the community on the back of the previous tweet. Both of these communities are very progressive, and to pigeon-hole them into either mold has infuriated the masses. From an outsider's perspective, it seems they are making something out of nothing. These people fanning the flames are not doing the overall community any good. I think, if anything, it's scaring people away from wanting to get involved, including myself.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019