Progression

July 26th, 2019
progression

Slowly, surely


I'm sitting down to write this at about 11:15 after spending the majority of the evening working through The Modern React Bootcamp. I'm at about 20% completion now which, given that this is the 5th day working through the material, seems like good progression. As long as I can stay focused on this bootcamp and not stray to other projects, I should be able to knock this out with efficiency, gaining some critical skills along the way.

I've just completed section 8 of the bootcamp, which dealt with design patterns in state with React. This section culminated in a short project building a simple app that generates random lottery balls on the screen when a button is pressed. Again, it's a very simple project, but I was able to deploy it and give it a working summary and readme on Github, so I feel good. The section before that demonstrated the basics of state with a dice rolling app. In this project, I built a React app that contained 2 dice components that would animate when being rolled and change the state to a random side of the die. The button is configured to be disabled while rolling and displays a "rolling..." message. This was another very basic project, but this is right about where my skill level is with React right now, if not higher than my current skill level. I figured out how to correctly deploy my app from the command line with Netlify on this one, which was unbelievably easy when done correctly!

I'm attempting to stay up a bit later tonight to try and cram in a couple more hours. I don't have to work tomorrow, so I don't really have an obligation to wake up at 5am tomorrow. I will be spending my time working through the bootcamp, with some cool projects coming right up to be able to work on. This bootcamp is much better than the Advanced Web Developers Bootcamp. It definitely moves quickly, but I'm under the impression that I will definitely be supplementing this with at least one more React-centric course, if not a few more. There's so much to learn, and it seems that learning React is almost obligatory at this point. It will at least allow me to create some really cool sites to put on my portfolio.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019