React is My Friend

August 3rd, 2019
react-is-my-friend

Finally getting comfortable


This is my Friday night(on a Saturday) of a 3 day weekend! I'm pretty excited to have a few days off in a row after working 6 straight; time to chug some work out. If I'm persistent enough, I believe that I can at least finish this final project on Colt Steele's "The Modern React Bootcamp" by the end of my weekend, if not start working on the following sections.

Today, I was able to complete the first 3 sections of the project, making some serious headway. The app already looks really cool, but there's still a lot left to do. We are going to be using Material UI during this project, which I haven't used yet, but have researched pretty extensively. I really like the style guidelines that Google comes up; I pretty much like everything that Google puts out. The quality of their work is so professional and it really makes the app pop to have some of their components integrated in. All I've used so far is a dropdown menu and a snackbar, both of which would be well beyond my capacity to try to figure out how to do without a library or framework.

I still have a good amount of stamina left tonight, so I want to continue working on this project for a bit longer. I think I could get one more section in, which would put me over the halfway point of the project. This whole bootcamp has flown by, and I really need to be thinking about what I'm going to do next so that I don't have any stagnation. I've talked about doing another react course on Udemy by another instructor, so that's probably what I will stick to. I still have two-thirds of the Advanced Web Developer Bootcamp to complete, so I could always put some more time into that; I just felt a little over my head during this course. It may be something I have to wait a little longer on before I'm fully ready. Until then, I think learning React as good as I can will prove to be a very hire-able trait.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019