Relax

June 19th, 2020
coronavirus

Weekend Time

It's been a long week, and I'm so ready for the weekend. Thankfully, I've made it to Friday afternoon, and the weekend can now commence. It wasn't a particularly difficult week at work, but my daughter has started her terrible 2's a few weeks early and is kind of wearing us out. She turns 2 on June 26th, but her attitude is already there. I think part of it may be due to her being stuck at home for so long and not being able to socialize with her little buddies at daycare. She's been home from daycare since the beginning of March, and I don't think anything is going to change anytime soon. Obviously, this is due to the Coronavirus, and in our opinions at least, things are not getting any better. Here in Florida, our highest cases recorded in a single day was around 1300 about 2 weeks ago. Today, we we recorded 3800 new cases of Coronavirus. It is blowing up, and our governor has decided there is no point where he will decide to close down again. We were one of the last states to issue stay-at-home orders and one of the first to open back up. We are now back to almost no restrictions whatsoever.

coronavirus

What makes it even worse if people's attitudes towards the situation. When I've gone to the grocery store in the past few weeks, I would say only 20 percent of people are wearing masks. They have signs in the aisles directing traffic to be only one way in a lane, and nobody even seems to notice them. At work, there are only 3 of us that are wearing masks. Our cases are now growing at an exponential and alarming rate, and even if they decide to issue any kind of restrictions, which it doesn't seem they will, I think it's too late. Enough people have it now where the spread is inevitable and unstoppable. Tampa and Orlando have finally mandated wearing masks, which might help a little, but again, I just think it's too late. It's weird too, because wearing a mask has become completely political, for some reason. If wearing a mask, it almost seems like people look at you like you're an alarmist or something. When I see people without a mask, I think they are being irresponsible and possibly endangering others around them. We are already very polarized as a country right now, and this is only exasperating the situation. We are heading down a pretty dark road here in America, and I think it's only going to get worse.

coronavirus

This weekend, my hope is to finish up my personal project. I've been building a website that manipulates data from a superhero API in as many ways as I can. I populate the list of superheroes in to a list of cards with their images and names on the home page, I have a search input on the homepage to search the heroes, and I have all kinds of categories to filter the heroes. It's looking pretty good, and I'm pretty satisfied with the styling. The functionality is pretty much done, and everything's looking good, but I have a couple of other things I'd like to clean up. First off, the site is not responsive at all, yet, so I'm going to write up some media queries and get that all situated. Secondly, I would like to use the Suspense API from React to show a placeholder image for the hero images until they load. The rest of the data comes in a little quicker than the images, so I think it would be better if I had some type of placeholder until it comes in. I've been looking around, and it looks like there are a few ways to do this. Beyond that, there are a few places I want to add some animation in. This would give it a really nice touch. Beyond that, I think that will do it, and I'm hoping I can get this done by the end of the weekend.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019