Scrambling

November 24th, 2019
redux

Not Going to Finish in Time

Pluralsight is a platform of resources for all kinds of disciplines, but most notably everything in the web and software development space. This weekend, all of their coursework was totally free, so I decided to check it out. When I first started this journey, this platform was recommended to me by an engineer, and I was able to find a deal for a free month, so I was quite familiar with the material offered. I ended finding a course by Cory House called "Building Applications with React and Redux." It's about 6 hours long, and I started it last night. I thought I could get it all done by midnight tonight when the free weekend concludes, but I'm not quite going to be able to. I have about 3 hours left in the course, but it will take at least 4 or 5 hours to complete those 3 hours, and its 9 right now. It was a good effort, but I'm just going to miss it. Maybe I'll get lucky and they'll be on west coast time, so I'll get a couple more hours to finish it.

golf

This week, I have my parents in town, which usually means I get some quality golf rounds in with my dad. Since my leg is broken, I obviously can't play golf, but I really wanted to get out on the course with him, anyways. I also haven't spent much time outside in the last 2 and a half weeks since I got injured, so I needed some sunshine. We decided to play a really nice course right down the road from us where they host a Korn Ferry(formerly Web.com) Tour event, and it was really fun to get out there and watch him play. He's hitting the ball really well, and I got to do some caddying for him. All the while, I was reaching out to people on LinkedIn, trying to build up my connections and find that one connection that's going to lead to a job. I sent off about 150 connection requests and about 50 intro texts to those that connected back. Now, my phone is buzzing off the hook while I'm trying to get this course done. Nonetheless, getting out in the sun was really good for me and being out on the golf course with my dad is always special. We've been playing golf together since I was 10 years old, and I have a lot of great memories over the years with him that I'll always cherish

scam-key large

I was really close to getting scammed. I applied for a job with a company up in Morrisville, NC a few days ago and received an email that looked like a request for an initial interview. The email instructed me to reach out to a HR manager through Google Hangouts, and that it would be an online/chat interview, which seemed really weird, but I need a job, so whatever. Later, I went to the company's website, looked at their jobs board, and saw a big disclaimer not to trust any email about a job from an address not ending in the company's name and .com. The email I received was a gmail account, so I knew something wasn't right. I found the guy who the email was supposed to be from on LinkedIn, and he's a senior engineer at the company, so I asked him straight up if he had sent me that email, and replied in the negative. Apparently, these people have been going around trying to get applicants to give them sensitive information through these chats; it's really sad they are preying on people who are desperate for a job and will do whatever it takes to get one. Luckily, I was able to suss this out before getting jammed up, but the next guy might not be so lucky.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019