Short Schedule

August 22nd, 2019
short-schedule

Family First


With my family in town through tomorrow night, it has been difficult to find the time or energy to be super productive. I sat down to do some work at about 8 tonight, and I only made it about 2 and a half hours before my vision started to go blurry. I'm having a difficult time keeping my focus, as well, due to exhaustion. My family is very easy to entertain; in fact, they tend to make life a lot easier while they're here. However, I'm still not able to put as much energy into this as I usually am. At the end of the day, family should be the first priority; I only see my parents a few times a year, and my grandparents much less than that, so it's important that I have some fun with them while I'm here. This is definitely an important point in my learning journey, but it's just not the number one priority while they're here, nor should it be.

I haven't heard anything back from the place that hired me, yet, but I didn't think I would so soon. I would be surprised if they got back to me tomorrow, but I definitely expect to know something by mid-week next week. If I don't, I would think that's a bad sign. In the meantime, I've sent out more applications and have had quite a few companies view my application more than once. This is usually a good sign that they have some interest in me. I had one company actually request my salary range today, which is a big step towards initializing a phone screen. None have reached out to me, but I'm kind of expecting to hear from somebody tomorrow as an initial phone screen, and I feel like I'm ready for that.

In my studies, I've been working today on "VueJS 2 - The Complete Guide," by Max schwarzmuller. He is an excellent teacher and really explains things well. I've now gotten up to 15% of the way through this 22 hour class, and I would really like to finish it within a week. I think this would show the company I interviewed with how quickly I can learn something and take my skills to the next level. Also, if they offer me a job, I'm going to feel much more comfortable with my abilities to perform the tasks they are asking of me from Day 1. I want them to feel like I'm adding value to their team immediately. Hopefully, I can get there!

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019