Sick Girl

June 2nd, 2020
sick

Complicated Day

My day was a bit different than usual today. It started off fairly normal, nothing crazy going on. My little girl has been running a fever off and on for the past couple of days, since Sunday morning, I believe. Normally, I wouldn't be too worried about a fever; kids get sick all the time. In the past few months, we've dealt with much less of this because she has been at home with us, instead of in the cesspool of germs that is the average daycare. At this age, it's better that she is exposed to colds, though, to build up her immunity for future colds to come. However, with the Coronavirus, it is a different story. This is not the common cold, and not one you want to test your immunity on. For the most part, kids have been spared from the severe symptoms associated with this virus, but that's not to say it isn't dangerous. Given that the first symptom is usually a fever, we were both a little worried right off the bat. Otherwise, though, she seemed perfectly fine and wasn't presenting any other symptoms. When her fever broke yesterday afternoon, she seemed to be back to her normal self, so we thought maybe we dodged a bullet.

sick

Today, she woke up back with the fever and was incredibly sleepy. I started getting text messages in the morning with pictures of her sleeping on the bed, which is totally unlike her. She will typically do anything to avoid her naptime or bedtime, so for her to readily be falling asleep in the middle of the morning, something was up. Her fever was back around 102, which isn't crazy, but still alarming. At about 11 AM, my fiancé got a phone call from the doctor, following up on the telehealth meeting they had yesterday about the illness. She described her symptoms to the doctor, and the doctor asked her to come in. This posed a problem, though. In the last few weeks, one of my tires in my other car had gone inexplicably flat. We haven't been using it, so I hadn't paid much attention to it, until now. Actually, I was planning on changing it this last weekend, but something came up and I wasn't able to get to it. This meant that I needed to get my car to my fiancé so she could get to the doctor and then get back to work, somehow. I talked to my HR manager, who is an awesome guy, and explained the situation to him. He was very understanding, and told me to do what I needed to do. I rushed back to the house, picked them up, and then had them drop me back off at work. I made it back in less than a half hour, so I guess it was alright, but I hate having to leave like that. But, family always comes first, and I knew it had to be done.

sick

I've been talking about this reducer I've been building since Sunday, and it's now become a complete monstrosity. With over 40 different actions held within this reducer, I'm beginning to think it's too big. There are options; I could split it up into smaller reducers that have similar functionality, or I could make it more dynamic and knock it down to much fewer actions. Neither one of these solutions really solves anything other than simplifying the code, but they may make it a little cleaner. This got me thinking, though: this is only one screen out of about 5 or 6 in this application, and it has this much functionality? We are basically creating a CRM from scratch; this application is crazy. When I first got started on this application, the goal was to finish it in a little over a month. Looking back on that, it's just outlandish. This is an application that a team of 5 to 10 developers would spend a few months on, at least. We are a team of 2 working on this; it's going to take time to do this right. They want to roll out the first version as soon as possible, but I think we're at least another month or 2 away from that. While I've been working on this screen, my cohort has been working on a crazy calendar screen, bringing in events for every day from the database. This screen is also a monstrosity, and we still have a couple more to go after that.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019