Sleepy

October 16th, 2019
sleepy

Work getting in the way


Today, we had a tournament that we host every month where our members can bring out there guests. We've had this tournament for many years, now, and we draw a big crowd; everyone raves about what a great time they had. I've been at the club the longest as far as assistants go, which means I carry a lot of responsibility on tournament days. Starting last year, the head professional, my boss, handed over most of the control of this tournament to me. I set up the tournament, handle all of the last-minute changes, and manage the crew to make sure that every minute detail is taken care of. I enjoy doing this, and it's really fulfilling to have members and guests come up after the round thanking us for a great experience. That said, it takes it's toll on me. I got to work at 7 and left at 7, all the while on my feet, literally running from one place to the next and thinking through a million tasks to coordinate. By the time I come home, I'm dragging and not at a full brain's capacity any longer.

When I sat down to study, I could tell I wasn't going to be able to focus fully, so I decided to go back a bit in Will Sentance's "JavaScript: The New Hard Parts" and review some of the material I had started yesterday. This course seems to be a lot more complex than his others, dealing specifically with asynchronous JavaScript actions, and I actually picked up quite a bit that I didn't the first time around. This material is definitely worth going over several times, as it is such an integral part of JavaScript and especially web development. Without this knowledge, calling APIs is a bit of a daunting task and makes very little sense. I'm now at the point of starting new material in the course, and I'm hesitant to go any further with it while I'm at limited cognitive capacity. Luckily, Frontend Masters has a lot of other courses to offer, so I may switch over to something I can watch more passively for the rest of the night. I don't want to wake up tomorrow wondering what it even was that I was working on yesterday.

Today, I heard back from a company that ghosted me yesterday. It all started with an email from them yesterday. In this email, the gentleman asked if I was still interested in a position at a company I had applied to several weeks back. I said I most certainly was and sent him my most updated resumé. He responded back asking if I had any time to take a phone call and discuss details of the position. I told him I would be available after I got off work at 5:30 and he said he would give me a call at that point. When 5:30 arrived, there was no phone call. By 6:30, I was a bit disappointed, but I sent him a polite email letting him know I was still available to talk with him, while providing him with an out for not calling or emailing me. This morning, he emailed me back letting me know he got pulled into an interview and apologizing for not reaching out to me. He asked me if I would be available to talk today, but of course, with my schedule today, that wasn't really an option. We were able to set up a time to talk tomorrow at 3, so we'll see what actually happens. I don't take this as a good sign for the company, but I certainly need the job and am willing to excuse this for the potential of an opportunity. I should know more by my post tomorrow, one way or another.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019