So Close

August 6th, 2019
so-close

Wrapping up the Massive Color Project


It's been 4 long days of grinding out this color project; it's come a long way from the bare-bones Create-React-App that it started as. Still, these last few videos seem to be as daunting as the first 70 or so. I'm hoping to wrap it up tonight and get it deployed through Netlify, but I'm running out of time before I lose consciousness and throw in the towel. Regardless, barring any unforeseen events, this puppy should be up and running no later than tomorrow evening. Then, it's on to the last few sections of Colt Steele's "The Modern React Bootcamp" before moving on to the next mountain. In these last sections, we are going to address React hooks, the Context API, NextJS, and there's also a mini-course on Webpack at the end. These are all very exciting topics that I'm looking forward to sinking my teeth into.

Beyond this bootcamp, I have talked before about doing another course on React to really pound in these concepts. I have several picked out, and I still have to complete the Advanced Web Developer's Bootcamp as well, so I have some options. While I have been passively researching these to make sure I pick one that will keep my momentum going, I've been really focused on this current course, so I haven't given it enough thought to pick one out yet. It will definitely be a React course, though, and all of the courses I'm looking at span about 40 hours, so there should be plenty of material. I'm also searching out some good courses that teach Gatsby, but I've yet to find any that look all that great. I've started a list of topics that I want to dive deeper on; it's just a matter of finding the time to do so, at this point.

I faced a few big issues today that definitely slowed me down. The most recent issue just happened a moment ago when trying to add route transition animations to my color project. I'm using a node package called React-Transition-Group and I just couldn't get it to transition like it was supposed to. The fix was pretty easy; I had just assigned all of the properties to make the thing work to the parent Transition element instead of the element within that. Once I fixed that up, I got that sweet, sweet transition animation. 'Earlier today, though, I was trying to add a package to my system that helps you create a really nice looking resume with several different template options and I was told that I didn't have enough space on my drive! I thought I had solved this problem a couple of days ago by adding a second hard drive, and I kind of fixed the issue, but now I'm going to have some really silly routing going on on my virtual machine. I think I can make it work for 2 more weeks until I get the Macbook Air, but it's going to slow me down to try and figure it out. Luckily, my dad is the Linux guru, so if I really get into a pain-point, I can always give him a call. Beyond that, I moved right along with the project, knocking down the 7th of 8 sections and getting through the first half of the last section before writing this. Progress!

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019