Steady Progress

August 26th, 2019
steady-progress

On the Vue Train


I'm just getting down to work now at about 7pm and decided to write this before I studied today. I'm hoping to work until 12 tonight, but I do have to work in the morning, so we'll see how that works out. I've made some really good progress on Maximilian Schwarzmuller's "VueJS 2: The Complete Guide" in the last couple of days. I think I came into this 2-day weekend at about 35% completion and am now at 63%, so that's pretty good. After 5 hours of work tonight, I should be well over 75% done. I really only have 3 major sections left and then the rest is actually bonus content. The bonus content covers Vue CLI 3, authentication, form validation, and Axios requests, so these are all really useful sections. I think I can finish this course by the end of the day Wednesday, so in 2 days. That would make it 1 week to finish the course, which is great. I'm still looking for my next course; I have some ideas, but I still haven't decided what it will be. There's an 11 hour course that I could finish pretty quickly that's taught by a notorious instructor on Udemy, so that will probably be the route.

I waited by the phone the majority of the day, hoping to hear from my prospective employer, but to no avail. I still think it would be pretty early to hear from him, but I was hoping he would be able to make the decision by now. The anticipation will have to continue at least for another day. Again, as long as I have my studies to keep me occupied, I'm not nearly as concerned about it as I usually would be. As time goes by, though, I keep thinking of different things in the interview that I shouldn't have said or vice versa. Hindsight is a real mother, sometimes.

My little girl starts daycare tomorrow, and I think it will be great for her. She hasn't had a lot of interaction with other kids, yet, although she's incredibly social. I think she will do great, but I'm still worried to send her off into the wild. At the same time, I get off tomorrow at 1 and will have a few hours to study before I pick her up, which will be really nice. I feel guilty not picking her up straight from work, but I need this time just as much as she needs the social interaction. This means that I should be able to study tomorrow for a solid 6 to 7 hours, so if I don't knock out the majority of this course, it will be a fail on my part. Let's see what I can do!

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019