The Final Stretch

August 9th, 2019
the-final-stretch

3 Sections Left


I spent most of the day at work today, leaving very little time or energy for studying, but I made the most of what I have today. I sat down to start studying after getting Kaija situated for the night at about 8 and passed out at about 8:45 for a 30 minute cat-nap. I thought I might be done for the night at this point, but I decided to try to power through and was able to at least complete one section of Colt Steele's "The Modern React Bootcamp." This was a pretty hefty section dealing with context and reducers, not light topics in the least. The way in which it was presented was really nice, though: Colt had us refactor a todo app that we had already created several sections back using these concepts instead of just hooks. It cleaned up the code quite a bit and was actually pretty simple to implement. Now, I'm down to 2 sections on NextJS and one section on Webpack. These are some fun topics that I really don't know that much about yet, but will be incredibly useful to learn. I know NextJS acts as a framework for React, making routing a bit more succinct, and Webpack is a kind of customized package similar to Create-React-App. I'm excited to get at these sections, but I doubt I will have any energy left to start them tonight.

I was able to get a Twitter account up and running today, which is a really big step forward for me. I haven't done a good enough job of implementing myself into any kinds of developer communities yet, so it's definitely time. I've never really used Twitter seriously before, so there's a bit of a learning curve in cultivating followers and following useful people and companies, but I'm now following about 60 people/companies in the developer community and 9 people/companies followed me back. I'm hoping to add some value to the community in some way or another, be it replying to someone's tweet or tweeting something out myself, but at this point, I don't know where to begin. I'll have to come up with a plan for getting noticed on Twitter by the right people so I can start to build some awesome relationships. I'm not going to be some annoying shill who goes on there and drops links to my Github and websites; I want to add value to the community by actually being valuable. I have no idea how to do that yet.

I have another day off tomorrow, so I'm hoping to get some work done and possibly finish off this bootcamp, but I expect I'll be working on it through Sunday unless I can get a section done tonight still(not likely). I've been toying with the idea of going back to the "Advanced Web Developer Bootcamp" and just completing the React sections, which have some great projects involved with this. Since it's taught by Colt Steele as well, there could be a lot of overlap with the course that I'm currently taking, but that could be a good thing. There's an excellent large project at the end as well as several smaller projects scattered throughout this course. If not, I'm still sold on Andrei Neagoie's course that I discussed in my post yesterday. Once I complete this course, then I will make a firm decision and stick with it. It's going to be another awesome notch in my belt to finish the bootcamp that I'm currently working on; a 40 hour course in about 3 weeks time is an excellent pace. I'm not rushing through anything, either; I just want to learn as much as I possibly can as quickly as I can. I need to get up to speed as soon as possible, so there's no time to waste!

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019