Troubleshooting

May 31st, 2020
troubleshooting

Headaches in Docker Land

On the home front, it's Sunday and I would typically be taking the little girl over to the pool today. Last night, she woke up with a fever of about 101. It hasn't spiked any higher than 102, but given the fact we are in the middle of a pandemic where the first symptom is a high fever, we're concerned. I would figure either I or my fiancé would also be running a fever, but neither one of us are. I'm hoping she just a small cold or something and her body is just fighting it off, but if it gets any worse, I'm taking her to get tested and then to the doctor. There's a testing site pretty close by us, but I'm not sure if it's the tests that come back in 15 minutes or if it's the ones that take a week. If it's the latter, that's pretty much useless. There are multiple ways she could've picked up a cold or the Coronavirus in the last few days, but again, I think we would have been exposed as well. We've been to the pool, I went to the grocery store yesterday, and my fiancé works at a restaurant where she has to deal with all kinds of people. It sucks that we have to risk exposure like this, but it's the world we live in. The economy is apparently more important than the well-being of the citizens.

troubleshooting

As an economics major, I understand the importance of maintaining the economy, but there are ways we could practice more safety as a society. Practicing social distancing and wearing a mask have strangely become a political issue in the last month or two, with the president largely to blame for this. I have found there are a number of people who will scoff at you for wearing a mask or trying to keep your distance and another large swath of people who will do the same if you're out in public not protecting yourself or other people around you. We fall into the latter camp, and I think it's only going to get worse. Here in Florida, we've returned back to business as usual for the most part, all while we just recorded our highest count for reported cases in a single day this last Thursday. Things are getting worse as we soften restrictions, and I don't think we will go back to a stay-at-home order if they continue to get worse. I think, as a state first but largely as a nation, the powers-that-be have weighed the situation and decided we will sacrifice the people who do get sick for the greater good.

troubleshooting

As far as my studies go, I'm stuck in Docker purgatory. If I have an issue with something in JavaScript or React, I know exactly how to Google for a solution. I know the keywords I need to use and can typically figure out what's going on. With Docker and Kubernetes, I really struggle. When I do find solutions, I barely understand the language they are speaking, with some of the terms and syntax seeming completely alien to me. I finished up the expiration service yesterday for the project in the microservices course I'm taking and started the payments service. Up until this point, it seemed to me my skaffold dev server was working fine. When I build the yaml files for kubernetes, I got some errors around the tickets service. I dropped some console.logs in the index.ts file for this service and was able to figure out what was going on. I had set up the wrong listener in there, so I fixed that, and thought that should do it. For some reason I can't seem to figure out, when the application goes to connect the MongoDB server through Mongoose, it's still erroring out. I've Googled all kinds of things but nothing seems to match up with what happened to me. I'm trying to delete all of my docker containers and images so it can build completely fresh, so we'll see if that works. So far, this error has cost me about 2 hours and half of the little hair I have left. Not fun.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019