Weekend Reprieve

June 12th, 2020
integration

TGIF

Boy, am I glad it's the weekend. It's been a difficult week on my end, and I needed a break from the grind. I enjoy working with React and React Native, don't get me wrong. In fact, as soon as I finish this entry, I'm going to be working on my own React project and will continue that work throughout the weekend, whenever I have some free time. This React Native project we are working on at my job, though, has been a bit unruly this week. We have made a lot of progress on the project since we started working on it about a month and a half ago, or at least when I started working on it then. It was pretty much at a standstill until I joined the project. That's not to say I'm the one that got it moving; it's just a matter of fact that when I joined in, we both started putting all of our focus on it and things started moving in the right direction. The week before last, I felt like I had made a ton of progress, building out a humongous reducer to handle all actions and pretty much putting the finishing touches on one of the most important screens. I then rolled back that reducer to be a bit more manageable and moved some of the state to be more local when appropriate, creating some mini-contexts to handle the state management within certain smaller components. This week, I actually got quite a bit accomplished, but it felt like I did nothing.

react native

The main task, at least for the latter half of the week, was to take my code I had written and merge it in with what my cohort had written. Some of this was a bit of a chore, since we went from not using Expo to using it, and certain things just didn't work in the Expo ecosystem. Some things, like icons, actually work a lot easier than they did without Expo, so while I had to make some changes, going forward, it will be much less work. I started off by taking all of my code and trying to integrate it into what my cohort had created. By doing so, I kept running into issues that seemed unexplainable. Most of these issues centered around layout with flexbox, and try as I might, I was getting really frustrated with something that's usually fairly straightforward. I discussed some of the issue with him this morning and let him know I was trying to be respectful of his code and change as little as I could. He suggested I completely scrap what he had worked on and just bring in what I had. I asked him if he could recreate some of the animation touches he'd created on these screens, and he said it would be no problem. I happily dumped everything I had worked on for the last couple days, deleted his files on those screens, and started bringing my files in.

react native

By the end of the day, I had, somewhat successfully, brought in all of the files and components I needed to bring in to have all of my work integrated in with the main version of our application. I say it was somewhat successful because I still have a few bugs to work out. My fetch request to the API to bring in all the leads for the leads search page is totally jamming that page up, and I can't seem to figure out why. I didn't change a thing when it came to this part of the work, so it should work the same as it did in my version, but it's really not. It could have something to do with the animations he has going on in the navigation tab at the bottom of the screen interfering, but I'll have to do some more digging to get to the bottom of this. It's a strange bug, and i'm not sure what the answer to the problem is. Beyond that, I have another small bug going on with my new arch-nemesis, scrollview on the individual lead page. I have each container set up to have it's own scrollview, but the whole page is scrolling congruously, and that is definitely not the preferred behavior. I messed around with the scrollviews to see if I could get them unlinked, but again, nothing seemed to do the trick. Hopefully, fresh eyes on Monday will help.

Until tomorrow!

Created by Sam Thoyre, © 2019